Independent Living Center

 ILC Logo

Happenings and Events

Upcoming events

ILC Summer Picnic

ILC Annual Summer Picnic

Sept. 7, 2017 11am – 3pm  Soldotna Creek Park

ILC Annual Picnic Join us to celebrate Independent Living! We will meet at Soldotna Creek Park (251 States Ave Soldotna) for fun, food, and Friendship. Contact your local ILC office to coordinate transportation.

There’s BIG THINGS in the works at ILC!

Email us your name and mailing address for updates on exciting new developments at ILC including our new Membership Program, Newsletter featuring great up-to-date articles on topics, events, and people of interest, and cool ILC swag like TRAILS sweatshirts and coffee mugs! Email your name and address here   to sign up now!

Upcoming events

    • Wednesday, March 21, 2018
    • 3:00 PM
    • Thursday, March 22, 2018
    • 6:30 PM

    This Wednesday and Thursday, CHECK OUT SUMMER VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES!  Drop in at Islands and Ocean Visitor Center on March 21 or 22 from 3:00 to 6:30 pm to learn about ways to volunteer this summer with one of these organizations: Alaska Maritime National Wildlife Refuge, Alaska State Parks (Kachemak Bay State Park), Center for Alaskan Coastal Studies, Cook Inletkeeper, Friends of Alaska National Wildlife Refuges, and Pratt Museum.  What a GREAT way to learn about all kinds of summer possibilities!  

    • Saturday, April 21, 2018

    • Friday, May 04, 2018
    • Sunday, May 06, 2018
    • Homer to Nenana

    LOOK WHAT WE’RE PLANNING!                 

    (Start SAVING $5 a week and with a TRAILS scholarship, have enough by this May to…)

    Ride the

    SPRING TRAIN to ALASKA’S Heartland

    • We’ll drive to Anchorage Friday, May 4, 2018.
    • Saturday, May 5, ride the train from Anchorage to Nenana (or Fairbanks) and spend the night there. 
    • Sunday, May 6, ride the train back to Anchorage and drive down to Homer.

    You can download the 1-page flyer here: Spring Train Ride to AK Heartland.pdf

    Just like ALL TRAILS activities, this trip is open to EVERY BODY, but we can only take 10 passengers in the van we’ll use.  If you want to drive yourself to Anchorage for this trip, be sure to let us know so we can arrange enough overnight lodging.

     On this winter train, the round trip fare for seniors and passengers with disabilities is 50% off, costing $200.  The total per person cost for this TRAILS “One-Hit Wonder” will be something like $380 (including train fare, travel to and from Anchorage, food, and overnight stays).  With a TRAILS scholarship, total cost per consumer for this once-in-a-lifetime adventure should be about $190. 

     Contact TRAILS for more information: 907.235.7911.

Past events

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 Homer Senior Center Medicare Minutes
Monday, March 05, 2018 Homer Transportation Forum March 5th
Thursday, February 22, 2018 Anchor Point Senior Center Medicare Minutes
Friday, January 19, 2018 Challenge Alaska Ski & Snowboard Jan 19-21
Saturday, October 07, 2017 Walk with a Doc in Homer
Monday, October 02, 2017 Community Forum on Adult Guardianship
Saturday, September 30, 2017 Self-Advocacy Summit
Thursday, September 07, 2017 Independent Living Summer Picnic
Friday, August 11, 2017 Homer TRAILS Canoe Day
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software