Independent Living Center

 ILC Logo

Independent Living Services

Individual and Systems Advocacy

The Independent Living Center provides advocacy on both an individual and systems level. On the individual level, we can help you to acquire the services and benefits to which you are entitled. The ILC has staff experienced in advocating on behalf of individuals with disabilities. We have been instrumental in affecting disability policy on both a state and federal level.


See IL Advocacy Updates

Photo of man and dog in front of a wooden fence

Peer Counseling and Peer Support

Independent Living is based on a peer to peer model. Individuals with disabilities can understand and support the experience of disability more than a person without a disability. A caregiver can understand the experience of caregiving more than someone who has never had that experience. The majority of staff working at the ILC experience disabilities themselves and many have family members who experience disabilities. The majority of the policy making body, the Board of Directors of ILC, experience disabilities. We all have the shared experience of disability.

In addition, each ILC office has listings of all the different support groups held in their communities. If you are need of a group that is not formed in your community, please call your local ILC office and we can help facilitate your group. We can also help you find support and resources on the web.

Peer Support with TRAILS

One of the benefits of the TRAILS program through ILC is that people can come together while recreating. ILC would like to facilitate communication and relationships between consumers that is supportive and authentic. Our TRAILS activities bring people together around common interests and provide opportunities for us to support one another. While the ILC staff is always willing to talk with consumers and provide supports and referrals where we can, we believe that the best support comes from consumers assisting each other.  We believe an Independent Living Center should not just be a place where “professionals” prescribe or dole out information, but a place where consumers can network with each other and engage in real, supportive relationships. TRAILS recreation activities are designed to be a catalyst to provide opportunities for engagement. See our TRAILS page in the PROGRAMS section of our web site to find out what’s going on and how you can get involved.

Information and Referral

ILC provides information on disability related issues and referral to other agencies, businesses and organizations appropriate to meeting individual needs and requests.

Central Peninsula Advocate Contacts

907-262-6333

Melissa Kline: IL Advocate and Office Manager mkline@peninsulailc.org

Kellie Bartelmay: IL Advocate kbartelmay@peninsulailc.org

Maggie Winston: Systems Advocate mwinston@peninsulailc.org

Seward Advocate Contact

907-224-8711

Christy Everett: IL Advocate ceverett@peninsulailc.org

Jamie Barrett: TRAILS Advocate jbarret@peninsulailc.org

Homer Advocate Contacts

907-235-7911

Dean Sundmark: IL Advocate and Office Manager dsundmark@peninsulailc.org

Risa Jackinsky: IL Advocate rjackinsky@peninsulailc.org

David Lewis: Systems Advocate dlewis@peninsulailc.org

Tela Bacher: TRAILS Advocate (systems advocacy for accessible recreation) tbacher@peninsulailc.org

Assistive Technology

The Independent Living Center can provide information about commonly used assistive technology devices.

For additional information check out Assistive Technology of Alaska (ATLA).

Assistive Technology of Alaska (ATLA)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software